AZ League Connection

The League's Monthly Online Newsletter

Issue 172: August 2017

League Legislative Award Recipients 

The League honored several legislators during the Thursday Legislative and Service Award Luncheon at the League Annual Conference for their outstanding public service and dedication to local governance. These legislators are in touch with local leaders, understand the issues and willingly participate in each community within their legislative district. Throughout the legislative session, they are thoughtful advocates for local decision making, consistent mediators between other stakeholders, and are respected for their contributions statewide. Please point your browser here to view the legislators that were honored.

Those who received recognition as a 2017 League Legislative Champion:

  • Senator Kate Brophy-McGee (R-28)
  • Representative Doug Coleman (R-16)
  • Senator Karen Fann (R-1)
  • Representative Charlene Fernandez (D-4)
  • Representative Randy Friese (D-9)
  • Senator Katie Hobbs (D-24)
  • Senator Lisa Otondo (D-4)
  • Senator Frank Pratt (R-8)
  • Representative Rebecca Rios (D-27)
  • Representative Don Shooter (R-13)
  • Representative T.J. Shope (R-8)
  • Senator Bob Worsley (R-25)

Those who received recognition as a 2017 League Legislative Friend:

  • Representative Lela Alston (D-24)
  • Representative Brenda Barton (R-6)
  • Representative Isela Blanc (D-26)
  • Representative Reginald Bolding (D-27)
  • Senator Sonny Borrelli (R-5)
  • Senator Sean Bowie (D-18)
  • Representative Paul Boyer (R-20)
  • Senator David Bradley (D-10)
  • Representative Kelli Butler (D-28)
  • Senator Olivia Cajero-Bedford (D-3)
  • Representative Noel Campbell (R-1)
  • Representative Mark Cardenas (D-19)
  • Representative César Chávez (D-29)
  • Representative Ken Clark (D-24)
  • Representative Todd Clodfelter (R-10)
  • Senator Lupe Contreras (D-19)
  • Senator Andrea Dalessandro (D-2)
  • Representative Kirsten Engel (D-10)
  • Representative Mitzi Epstein (D-18)
  • Representative Diego Espinoza (D-19)
  • Senator Steve Farley (D-9)
  • Representative Rosanna Gabaldon (D-2)
  • Representative Drew John (R-14)
  • Senator John Kavanagh (R-23)
  • Representative Jay Lawrence (R-23)
  • Representative Vince Leach (R-11)
  • Senator Debbie Lesko (R-21)
  • Senator Juan Mendez (D-26)
  • Representative J.D. Mesnard (R-17)
  • Senator Robert Meza (D-30)
  • Senator Catherine Miranda (D-27)
  • Representative Tony Navarrete (D-30)
  • Representative Jill Norgaard (R-18)
  • Senator Jamescita Peshlakai (D-7)
  • Senator Martin Quezada (D-29)
  • Representative Athena Salman (D-26)
  • Representative Maria Syms (R-28)
  • Representative Bob Thorpe (R-6)
  • Representative Kelly Townsend (R-16)
  • Representative Michelle Udall (R-25)
  • Representative Jeff Weninger (R-17)
  • Senator Steve Yarbrough (R-17)
  • Senator Kimberly Yee (R-20)

“We are grateful for our dedicated and supportive legislators who recognize the level of government closest to the people is the most effective,” said Chandler Mayor and League President Jay Tibshraeny. “We are pleased to honor them for their continued service and commitment to keeping cities and towns great places to live and work.”

Follow us:

League of Arizona Cities and Towns
1820 W Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Phone: 602-258-5786
Fax: 602-253-3874